Knowsley occupies a block facing the Queen’s Park savannah and is bounded by chancery lane, Dundonald Street and Albion Lane. It was built in 1904 by Taylor and Gillies on behalf of William Gordon and imported yellow bricks and limestone from the Laventille quarry were used.
The building contains many unique features including the gesso work on the ceiling of the ground floor and Italian marble on the ground floor verandah. In June 1956, Knowsley was purchased by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago. UDeCOTT subsequently undertook the restoration and adaptive use for offices of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The restored building and basement feature a reception area, administrative offices and tailored landscaping including a water feature, was handed to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on 5th May, 2011.